Ancestors from the Indian subcontinent
- Records at the British Library and The National Archives
- Other records and websites
- Religion and records in India
- Anglo-Indian ancestors and those from other countries
Anglo-Indian ancestors and those from other countries
Anglo-Indian or European ancestors
If your family were British, European or Anglo-Indian, living in India, then there are quite a lot of resources available to help you trace your family history.
The following websites are particularly useful and should be able to help you make a good start:
- Moving Here
- Families in British India Society
- The India Office in the British Library holds many useful records
- The Society of Genealogists holds copies of many baptisms, marriages, burials, monumental inscriptions and wills of the British in India
Ancestors from Bangladesh
Registering of births, marriages and deaths is not compulsory in Bangladesh, but some records are in existence.
During partition, many records were transferred between East and West Bengal.
However, attempts to get records from Pakistan have not been so successful.
The Bangladesh National Library and Archives can offer advice on tracing family history.
Ancestors from Pakistan
Registration is not compulsory in Pakistan and unfortunately a fire in 1948 destroyed most of the records for the Karachi area.
For advice on tracing family history in Pakistan, see the National Archives of Pakistan website.
The website Genealogy has a Pakistan Genealogy Forum.
Ancestors from Sri Lanka
There is a good set of records in existence for people researching family history in Sri Lanka - for advice, contact the National Archives of Sri Lanka.
For information about census records contact the Information Unit of the Department of Census and Statistics.
Ancestors from Nepal
A useful website for Nepalese genealogy is FamilySearch.